top of page

Weekly:Lexy

For this post I really wanted to have someone write for me that was outside of my close circle of friends. Lexy is a really awesome girl that I met in college and we have a ton of mutual friends. I normally know so much about the people I ask to write for me so, it is always easy to give them a prompt. However, I don't know a lot about Lexy so, I left the prompt up to her and in fact, it made me even more excited to see what she wrote as well as learn a little bit more about her. Lexy actually ended up finding an old poem she wrote a few years ago and revamped it to fit who she is today. To me, poems always tell a story. The original poem was written with a tone of heartbreak and despair. However, when she added to this poem to suit as she is today, that is when she was able to rid of the tragic ending and allowed a happy ending to shine through. I hope you love it! Thank you Lexy!!

He was the most manipulative man I had ever met,

and the most excellent liar.

He told me everything I wanted to here; therefore, I believed it.

I didn’t listen to anyone but him,

and I didn’t think about anyone but him.

I had never felt this way before.

He was the best thing that had ever happened to me,

and the worst thing that had ever happened to me.

Lies after lies after lies;

there were always other girls.

I told myself it wasn’t true, even when I knew it was.

He was my everything,

and he had convinced me into thinking that I was his.

He said he would love me forever,

and I believed him.

It was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to get over,

him.

I told myself he had broken me.

That I couldn’t be fixed.

I would be like this forever..

I wasn’t.

Time passed,

and even more time passed.

Pain had faded, tears had stopped.

Everything started to change.

I became more aware…

Of who my true friends are.

Of who really loves me.

And most importantly,

Of my self-worth.

I know so much more about myself.

I have more confidence.

I know what I want,

in not just a man, but a friend.

I don't need anything to do with him anymore.

I was no good when I was with him.

I am better off.

I am stronger, happier, better.

I now know,

he didn’t break me,

he changed me.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
MESSAGE ME

Thanks! Message sent.

bottom of page